Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Illustrative mapping of certifications to NICE Framework

Cybersecurity training is important within any organization. Having employees with the knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform cyber-related tasks for the protection of systems, networks, and sensitive information is critical. Therefore, as a reference resource the NICE Working Group Training and Certifications Subgroup has created a mapping matrix that allows one to see what certifications may be of value to a particular work role listed in the NICE Framework.

The mapping matrix provides an overall view of current commercially available Cybersecurity certifications that may be of value to the cybersecurity workforce. It is not a mandatory or a final listing, but rather a compendium of current certifications identified by public and private sector organizations as valuable for the determination of certifications that support the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Special Publication 800-181, National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) Cybersecurity Workforce Framework (aka the NICE Framework).

Download the Mapping Matrix

 Call for comments

The NICE Working Group Training and Certifications Subgroup requested feedback on this Mapping Matrix during the public comment period, which ended December 6, 2018. 

View the current version of the matrix or head back to the Training and Certifications Subgroup webpage to learn more about the progress of this effort. 



Created August 28, 2018, Updated May 17, 2019