Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Staff Directory

Materials and Structural Systems Division
Materials and Structural Systems Division Office
Jason D. Averill  Division Chief                                                                                                                                      301-975-2585
Dr. Kenneth Snyder Deputy Division Chief 301-975-4260
Dr. Judith Mitrani-Reiser Associate Division Chief 301-975-0684
Jennifer C. Horning Division Office Manager 301-975-6707
Ami A. Reisinger Administrative Officer 301-975-6746


National Windstorm Impact Reduction Program Office
Scott Weaver                   Director, National Windstorm Impact Reduction Program (NWIRP) 301-975-5983
Steve Potts

Management & Program Analyst



National Earthquake Hazard Reduction Program Office
Dr. Steven McCabe         Director, National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) 301-975-8549
Tina Faecke

Management & Program Analyst


Structures Group (731.01)

Dr. Long T. Phan                Leader, Supervisory Research Structural Engineer                                                           301-975-6077
Bridget Kowalchek Administrative Office Assistant 301-975-6056


Earthquake Engineering Group (731.05)
Dr. Steven McCabe           Leader                                                                                                                                                     301-975-8549

David Herder

Administrative Office Assistant 301-975-6056


Community Resilience Group (731.06)
Dr. Therese P. McAllister   Leader, Supervisory Research Structural Engineer                                                       301-975-6078
Gwynaeth Broome Administrative Office Assistant 301-975-8083


Infrastructure Materials Group (731.07)
Dr. Kenneth Snyder          Leader                                                                                                                                                     301-975-4260

Jeremy Graham

Administrative Office Assistant 301-975-2005



Engineering Laboratory (EL)

Materials and Structural Systems Division (731)
Jason D. Averill, Chief
Ami A. Carbaugh, Administrative Officer

General Information:
Jennifer C. Horning, Division Administrative Office Assistant
301-975-6707 Telephone

100 Bureau Drive, M/S 8615
Gaithersburg, Maryland 20899-8615

Created August 26, 2010, Updated November 8, 2019