## **APPENDIX C**

## NIST IN THE FEDERAL ADMINISTRATION

This appendix lists Executive departmental officials who exercised supervisory authority over NIST, during the terms of NIST Directors from 1993-2009.

| UNITED STATES<br>PRESIDENTS     | DEPARTMENT<br>OFFICIALS   | NIST<br>DIRECTORS                         |
|---------------------------------|---|---|
| ſ                               | Ronald H. Brown<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>1993-1996                           | ]   |
|                                 | Mary L. Good<br>Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>1993-1997      | Arati Prabhakar                           |
|                                 | Michael Kantor<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>1996-1997                            | ce  |
|                                 | Mary L. Good<br>Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>1993-1997      |   |
| William J. Clinton<br>1993-2001 | William M. Daley<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>1997-2000                          | ]   |
|                                 | Cheryl L. Shavers<br>Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>1999-2001 | Raymond G. Kammer                         |
|                                 | Norman A. Mineta<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>2000-2001                          | 1997-2001                                 |
|                                 | Cheryl L. Shavers<br>Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>1999-2001 | J   |
|                                 | Karen H. Brown<br>Acting Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>2001  | Karen H. Brown<br>Acting Director<br>2001 |

| UNITED STATES<br>PRESIDENTS | DEPARTMENT<br>OFFICIALS  | NIST<br>DIRECTORS  |
|-----------------------------|--|--|
| George W. Bush<br>2001-2009 | Donald L. Evans<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>2002-2004<br>Phillip J. Bond<br>Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>2002-2005   | Dr. Arden Bement, Jr.<br>2002-2004<br>Hratch Semerjian<br>Acting Director<br>2004-2005 |
|                             | Carlos M. Gutierrez<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>2005-2009<br>(Vacant)<br>Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>Carlos M. Gutierrez<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>2005-2009<br>Robert Cresanti<br>Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>2006-2007 | Hratch Semerjian<br>Acting Director<br>2004-2005<br>William A. Jeffrey<br>2005-2007    |
|                             | Carlos M. Gutierrez<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>2005-2009<br>Under Secretary of<br>Commerce for Technology<br>(Position Eliminated<br>December 2007)   | James Turner<br>Acting Director<br>2007-2008<br>(Vacant)                               |
| Barack H. Obama {           | Gary F. Locke<br>Secretary of Commerce<br>2009-  | Patrick D. Gallagher<br>Director of NIST<br>2009-                                      |

Source: Agency Web Sites