EDITORS: George Ohring, NOAA/NESDIS Bruce Wielicki, NASA Langley Research Center Roy Spencer, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center Bill Emery, University of Colorado Raju Datla, NIST

Physics Laboratory Optical Technology Division National Institute of Standards and Technology 100 Bureau Drive Stop 8441 Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8441

> U.S. Department of Commerce Donald L. Evans, Secretary

Technology Administration Phillip J. Bond, Under Secretary for Technology

National Institute of Standards and Technology Arden L. Bement, Jr., Director

> NISTIR 7047 March 2004

Disclaimer: any mention of commercial products is for information only, it does not imply recommendation or endorsement, nor does it imply that the products mentioned are necessarily the best available for the purpose.