## **NIST/EAC Future of Voting Systems Symposium II**

## Agenda

Department of Commerce Auditorium, Herbert C. Hoover Building February 9-10, 2015

Day 1: "Trends in Voting Systems"

8:30am – 9:00am	<ul> <li>Welcome &amp; Opening Remarks</li> <li>Dr. Rich Cavanagh, Acting Associate Director for Laboratory Programs and Director of the Special Programs Office, NIST</li> <li>Tom Hicks, EAC Commissioner</li> <li>Matthew Masterson, EAC Commissioner</li> <li>Christy McCormick, EAC Commissioner</li> </ul>
9:00am – 10:00am	Keynote  Tammy Patrick, Senior Advisor to the Democracy Project, Bipartisan Policy Center
10:00am – 10:30am	Break
10:30am – 11:45am	<ul> <li>Moderator: <ul> <li>Brian Hancock, Director, Testing and Certification Division, EAC</li> </ul> </li> <li>Panelists: <ul> <li>Doug Chapin, Director, Program for Excellence in Election Administration</li> <li>Merle King, Executive Director, Kennesaw State University, Center for Election Systems</li> <li>Kamanzi Kalasi, Overseas Voting Initiative, Council of State Governments</li> <li>Steve Trout, Director of Election Innovation, Clear Ballot</li> <li>Melanie Bull, Public Policy Director, Tennessee Disability Coalition</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
11:45am – 1:00pm	Lunch (On your own)
1:00pm - 2:15pm	Panel: "Balancing Human Factors and Security"

## **Moderator:**

• Sharon Laskowski, Computer Scientist & Manager, Visualization and Usability Group, NIST

## **Panelists:**

- Josh Benaloh, Senior Cryptographer, Microsoft Research
- Linda H. Lamone, State Election Administrator, Maryland State Board of Elections
- Juan E. Gilbert, Associate Chair of Research, Computer & Information Science & Engineering Department, University of Florida
- Joseph Lorenzo Hall, Chief Technologist, Center for Democracy & Technology
- Whitney Quesenbery, Director, Center for Civic Design

	winting Queschooly, Director, Center for Civic Design
	Panel: "Future Voting Standards"
2:15pm –	<ul> <li>Moderator:</li> <li>Jessica Myers, Certification Program Specialist, EAC</li> <li>Panelists:</li> <li>Brian Hancock, Director, Testing and Certification Division,</li> </ul>
3:30pm	<ul> <li>EAC</li> <li>Sharon Laskowski, Computer Scientist &amp; Manager,         Visualization and Usability Group, NIST</li> <li>Wendy Underhill, Program Manager, Elections, NCSL</li> <li>Tammy Patrick, Senior Advisor to the Democracy Project,         Bipartisan Policy Center</li> </ul>
3:30pm – 4:00pm	Break
	Panel: "E-Pollbooks"  Moderator:  Shanee Dawkins, Computer Scientist, NIST
4:00pm – 5:00pm	<ul> <li>Panelists:</li> <li>Brandi Laser Seskes, Elections Attorney for Ohio Secretary of State</li> <li>Lori Steel Contorer, founder and CEO, Everyone Counts</li> <li>Christina Adkins, Staff Attorney, Elections Division, Texas Secretary of State</li> <li>Kim Brace, President, Election Data Services, Inc.</li> <li>Jack Cobb, co-founder and Laboratory Director, Pro V&amp;V, Inc.</li> </ul>

Day 2: "Looking Towards the Future"

8:30am – 8:45am	Day 2 Introduction
8:45am – 10:00am	<ul> <li>Moderator: <ul> <li>John Wack, Computer Scientist, NIST</li> </ul> </li> <li>Panelists: <ul> <li>Don Rehill, Director of Election Research &amp; Vote Tabulation, Associated Press</li> <li>Kenneth Bennett, Information Technology Manager, Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder County Clerk</li> <li>John Dziurlaj, Information Technology Specialist, Ohio Secretary of State Office</li> <li>Jared Marcotte, Technology Manager, PEW</li> <li>Ernesto Camanche, Partner Technology Manager, Google</li> <li>John Sebes, Chief Technology Officer, TrustTheVote Project and Co-Director, OSET Foundation</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
10:00am – 10:30am	Break
10:30am – 11:30am	<ul> <li>Considerations for Future VVSG         <ul> <li>Megan Dillon, Computer Engineer, EAC</li> </ul> </li> <li>Testing Emerging Systems         <ul> <li>Brian Hancock, Director, Testing and Certification Division, EAC</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
11:30pm - 1:00pm	Lunch (On your own)
1:00pm – 2:00pm	<ul> <li>Election Auditing         <ul> <li>Merle King, Center for Election Systems, Kennesaw State University</li> <li>Philip Stark, Professor and Chair of Statistics and Director, Statistical Computing Facility, University of California, Berkeley</li> </ul> </li> <li>Security: Next Steps         <ul> <li>Andrew Regenscheid, Mathematician, NIST</li> <li>Joshua Franklin, IT Security Specialist, NIST</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
2:00pm – 3:00pm	• Usability & Accessibility Roadmap

	<ul> <li>Sharon Laskowski, Computer Scientist &amp; Manager,         Visualization and Usability Group, NIST</li> <li>Whitney Quesenbery, Director, Center for Civic Design</li> <li>Innovative Trends</li> <li>Jessica Myers, Certification Program Specialist, EAC</li> </ul>
3:00pm – 3:30pm	Break
3:30pm – 4:30pm	Report from Breakouts
4:30pm – 5:00pm	Wrap-up