Four Grantees win Nobel Prize in Physics

The 2005 award of the Nobel Prize in Physics to Theodor W. Hänsch of the Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik Garching and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich, along with John L. Hall of NIST at Boulder, JILA, and the University of Colorado at Boulder, and Roy J. Glauber of Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, brought to four the number of NIST Precision Measurement Grant awardees who have gone on to win the Nobel Prize. Hänsch was awarded a Precision Measurement Grant in 1974 for work on precision laser spectroscopy of one-electron atoms. The other Grant recipients who subsequently won the Nobel prize are Carl E. Wieman of the University of Colorado at Boulder and JILA, Steven Chu of the US Department of Energy, and Daniel C. Tsui of Princeton University.