Summary of the Eighth Annual Sigma Xi Postdoctoral Poster Presentation, Thursday, Feb. 15, 2001

There were 38 posters presented at the annual Sigma Xi postdoc poster event held on February 15, 2001, in the NIST Hall of States from 11 am to 3 pm.  The award for best poster was presented at a Sigma Xi sponsored luncheon on March 1 for the postdocs and Sigma Xi members who participated in the event.

The award for best poster was presented to Dr. Kevin O'Donovan from MSELís Center for Neutron Research for his representation of A New Twist on Polarized Reflectivity:  Imaging Exchange-Spring Magnets.

The two runners up were Dr. Archie Smith from MSELís Polymers Division, for Combinatorial Study of Surface Pattern Formation in Thin Diblock Co-Polymer Films, and Dr. Robert Dimeo, also from MSELís Center for Neutron Research, for The Dynamics of Free and Confined Tops.

The posters were evaluated by judges from EEEL, CSTL, PL, BFRL, MSEL, and the NIST Program Office based upon the following criteria:

1) creativity and originality as applied to the presentation;

2) organization of the material to communicate a theme (e.g. statement of problem, technical challenge, result, impact);

3) ability of the graphics (as opposed to lots of words) to communicate info;

4) overall attractiveness (does it beckon you from across the room);

5) ability of the poster to tell the story even to a browser or someone with just a few minutes to get the idea (e.g., with some posters, one doesn't know where the story begins, which direction it takes, and where it ends);

6) ability of the poster to tell the story even to a non-expert.