Take a sneak peek at the new NIST.gov and let us know what you think!
(Please note: some content may not be complete on the beta site.).

View the beta site
NIST logo
Bookmark and Share

Staff Directory

The ITL Applied and Computational Mathematics Division (ACMD)consists of full time permanent staff located at NIST laboratories in both Gaithersburg, MD and Boulder, CO. This is supplemented with a variety of faculty appointments, guest researchers, postdoctoral appointments, and student appointments.




Ronald F. Boisvert, Chief

Catherine Graham, Division Secretary

Alfred S. Carasso

Roldan Pozo

Chris Schanzle 


Mathematical Analysis and Modeling Group


Timothy J. Burns, Leader

Ginger White, Administrative Assistant

Bradley K. Alpert (Boulder)

Andrew Dienstfrey (Boulder)

Jeffrey Fong

Zydrunas Gimbutas (Boulder)

Fern Hunt

Raghu N. Kacker

Anthony Kearsley

Geoffrey B. McFadden, NIST Fellow

Paul Patrone

Bert W. Rust 


Daniel Anderson, Faculty Appointee

Sean Colbert-Kelly, Guest Researcher

Michael Cromer, Guest Researcher

David E. Gilsinn, Guest Researcher

Jeff (Yu) Lei, Guest Researcher

Michael Mascagni, Faculty Appointee

Itzel Dominguez Mendoza, Guest Researcher

Dianne M. O'Leary, Faculty Appointee

Florian Potra, Faculty Appointee

Christoph J. Witzgall, Scientist Emeritus



Mathematical Software Group


Michael Donahue, Leader

Ginger White, Administrative Assistant

Javier Bernal

Howard Cohl

Stephen Langer

Daniel Lozier

Marjorie A. McClain

Bruce Miller

William F. Mitchell

Donald G. Porter

Bonita V. Saunders

Barry I. Schneider


Adri Olde Daalhuis, Guest Researcher

Gunay Dogan, Guest Researcher

Leonard Maximon, Guest Researcher

Mark Pederson - Guest Researcher

G.W. (Pete) Stewart, Faculty Appointee

Jianwei Sun - Guest Researcher

Qiming Wang, Guest Researcher

Abdou S. Youssef, Faculty Appointee

Lizhong Zhang - Guest Researcher

Computing and Communications Theory Group


Ronald F. Boisvert, Acting Leader

Catherine Graham, Secretary

Isabel Beichl, Project Leader

Brian Cloteaux

Scott Glancy (Boulder)

Barry Hershman

Stephen Jordan

E. (Manny) KnillNIST Fellow (Boulder)

Paulina Kuo

Yi-Kai Liu

Vladimir Marbukh

Kamran Sayrafian

Oliver Slattery

Xiao Tang, Project Leader


Martina Barbi, Guest Researcher

Peter Bierhorst, Postdoctoral Researcher (Boulder)

Bryan Eastin, Guest Researcher (Boulder)

Assane GueyePostdoctoral Associate

Adam Keith, NSF Graduate Fellow  (Boulder)

Richard La, Guest Researcher

James F. Lawrence, Faculty Appointee

Lijun Ma, Guest Researcher

Alan Mink, Guest Researcher

Francis Sullivan, Guest Researcher

Karl Mayer, Student (Boulder)

James Van Meter, Student (Boulder)



High Performance Computing and Visualization Group


Judith E. Terrill, Leader

Yolanda Parker

William George

Terence Griffin

Wesley Griffin

John Hagedorn

Sanford (Sandy) Ressler

Steven Satterfield

James Sims 


Thomas (Marc) Olano, Faculty Appointee