

NICE Community Coordinating Council Modernize Talent Management Working Group

1. Project Team Name

Talent Retention – Why People Leave and Why People Stay

2. Project Team Purpose

The MTM Talent Retention project team will develop recommendations for HR leaders, cybersecurity managers and individual contributors to address factors that cause people to leave or stay in their cybersecurity role or the field altogether.

3. Project Team Objectives

The objective of this working project group is to examine the reasons people leave their cybersecurity job or the entire field of cybersecurity. The team will leverage existing research as well as conduct primary research to include perspectives of HR leaders, cybersecurity managers and individual contributors. An analysis of research results will enable identification of best practices and guidance to encourage a better cultural fit for individual contributors in cybersecurity roles and reduced turnover among staff.

This project supports Strategy Objective 3.5 - Encourage and enable ongoing development and training of employees, including rotational and exchange programs, to foster and keep current talent with diverse skills and experiences.

4. Project Team Deliverables

- a. Literature review document existing research of contributing factors to employee dissatisfaction
- b. Survey design, test and field a survey for HR leaders, cybersecurity managers and cybersecurity individual contributors to answer the question "what actions can managers and organizations take to retain talent?"
- c. White paper using the information in the survey results and from the literature review, author guidance for organizations and individuals on recommendations for addressing the factors that cause talent to leave either an organization, or the field. Include conversational guidance that any manager can use in communicating with their team that might identify people considering leaving.

5. Roles and Responsibilities

Project co-leads: Jessie Bolton and Terry Leach

Team members: Olesya Menon, Marian Merritt, Arianna Schuler Scott, Girish Seshagiri, Nelson Abbott